Whether you are accused of shoplifting a candy bar or stealing a car, it is crucial to have an experienced Tennessee criminal defense lawyer on your side.
Even a petty theft conviction shouldn't be looked upon lightly. It can have a lasting impact on your life, leaving you with a criminal record and damaged reputation.
In Tennessee, theft of $500 or under is considered a misdemeanor, while theft of more than $500 is a felony. The criminal penalties increase depending upon the amount in question and other factors such as the defendant's criminal background.
Some examples can be:
Theft crimes are categorized between petty theft and grand theft. The penalties vary by category.
Grand theft is a more serious offense and involves property which has a higher monetary value. Petty theft, on the other hand, is less serious and involves property with a lesser value. Petty theft in Tennessee is considered theft of property or services with a value of $500 or less.
Petty theft is generally charged as a Class A misdemeanor in the state of Tennessee. It is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and up to one year in jail.
If the theft offense involved property with a value above $500, it is usually charged as a felony. These crimes are often classified as grand theft and hold serious penalties.
Depending on the exact class of felony, the consequences can vary. A Class E felony can follow theft of property between $500 and $1,000 and is punishable by between one and six years in prison and a fine of up to $3,000. A Class D felony can be charged for a theft offense involving property valued between $1,000 and $10,000. This level of offense is punishable by between 2 and 12 years in prison, as well as a fine of up to $5,000. If the property is valued between $10,000 and $60,000, the offense can be a Class C felony. This felony is punishable by between 3 and 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Finally, if the property has a value above $60,000, the offense could be charged as a Class B felony, which is punishable by between 8 and 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.
If you have been arrested for a theft offense in Murfreesboro, Michael Rexroat is here to help stand up for your rights. Contact us today at (615) 953-0200 to arrange a consultation with an experienced defense lawyer.
Copyright © 2019 Red King Law Murfreesboro Defense Attorney - All Rights Reserved. This site is for general information purposes only. It should not be interpreted as offering legal advice or as creating an attorney-client relationship. All testimonials were voluntarily given. Testimonials do not convey a guarantee as to the outcome of any matter for which we are retained.